Create array from oasis file

Hi all!
I am a beginner in klayout python scripting and as such I believe my question is rather basic.
All I want to do is read an oasis file from disk, create an array of this object (with given number of rows/columns and horizontal/vertical spacing) and save it. From other discussions I have seen that the function pya.CellInstArray should do exactly what I need but I didn't understand how to pass to this function the layout I want to make the array of.
Thank you in advance for you help!

Comments

• I though some more detail might facilitate answers: all I want to achieve is the same as what one can do with the "Edit>Selection>Make Array" function of the Klayout editor GUI. I would like the resulting array to be in the same layer and in the same cell of the input oasis file. Thank you

• You should first read through the documentation, and get familiar with the API: https://www.klayout.de/doc-qt5/programming/database_api.html
    Note that "Make Array" does not produce an "Array Instance".

• "Make Array" will copy an object several times, and these copies will be independent (i.e. they can be moved separately afterward).
    • An "Array Instance" is an "Instance" of a "CellInstArray", and the latter is an array of a "Cell" object (possibly an array of only one element).

Olivier

• Thank you for your reply! I am looking through the documentation... I see that the CellInstArray is not really what I thought it was. I am trying to achieve the first of the two results you listed ("Make Array"). Could you suggest a way to do it?

• edited March 2019

Maybe what I wrote was not very clear, but I can say it in a different way: you can create arrays by two different methods, either with "Edit > Selection > Make array" or with a cell by clicking on "Array Instance" in the cell properties.
    In a script, I know how to do the latter (create a "CellInstArray"), and I don't know if there's a way to do the former automatically.