Python automation of KLayout in Windows 10

edited April 2020 in Python scripting

I am new to Klayout and even newer to Python, but not new to programming in general. Using KLayout WIndows GUI I have learnt to create layers and cells and can create multi layouts layouts. However, I would prefer to automate the entire layout design process. I have got the most recent KLayout (v0.26.4) and Python (3.8) installed. However, I cannot get my head around how to use Python to generate a layer or cell in KLayout.

Typing in the Python script from here
https://klayout.de/doc/programming/python.html
in Macro Development box with Python selected does not seem to do anything when I run the script (F5). Running the inbuilt templates are also doing nothing.

I suspected there is an installation problem, so I tried the following.
https://klayout.de/forum/discussion/1428/pypi-install-version to install Klayout from PyPI, but I get
SyntaxError: unexpected character after line continuation character
when using (in CMD)
C:\Users\my_user_name\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python38\Scripts> pip install klayout<
May be the install directory is not correct?
Attempt to install via
C:\Users\my_user_name\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python38\Scripts> pip install C:\klayout-0.26.4-cp35-cp35m-win_amd64.whl<
also leads to the aforementioned syntax error.

Ideally I would like to run a script written in Python and run it view/open the result in Kayout GUI.

Could not find much help in the forum post on this so any help to get me started is much appreciated.

Comments

• Hi,

First of all, if you just install KLayout there is not much else to do. You can run Python scripts inside KLayout because KLayout comes with it's own Python interpreter embedded. Note that in this case, the module is "pya".

You should check from inside KLayout if a simply Python script such as 'print("Hello, world!")' runs.