Klayout in command line

edited September 2012 in General
Hi everyone!
(Sorry for my english)
I'm trying to convert GDS|DXF|CIF in image (BMP, JPEG,...) OR GDS|CIF in DXF.I'd like to convert it through a script (no interface), under windows 7.
I have not succesful use Klayout in command line under windows ...
From what I've read a previous post, I should use Ruby for my conversion. So I download RubyInstaller for windows and tried some script (from the binary klayout-0.22\testdata\ruby).

Every time I'm trying to compile one of these script, I have the error "uninitialized constant RBA (NameError)"
I'm relatively new to Ruby, please help! Any suggestion?

Thanks!

Comments

• edited September 2012

Hallo,

you don't need a separate Ruby installation. KLayout comes with a built-in Ruby interpreter. To convert an format to CIF you can use the script described in http://klayout.de/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=195&page=1#Comment_802. There you'll also find the correct way to call KLayout's command line in order to execute the script. No separate installation is required.

Best regards,

Matthias

• edited November -1
    Hello Matthias,

Thanks for your answer! Really appreciate :)
    If I understand correctly, I need to compile the code in Visual Studio to access the script needed for converting the files. Right? Because when I enter "klayout" in cmd, I get " 'klayout' is not recognized as an internal or external command, ..."
    Si I tried to compile the Klayout under my VS 2010, QT 4.8.0 and download ruby1.9.1-p430.zip. I configure the environment variables in the system properties and I reboot my computer. But when I tried to compile I have many errors. Like "error C2411: 'void rbs::RubyInterpreter::eval_string(const char *)': overloaded member function not found in 'rba::RubyInterpreter'. Or " error: C2039: 'install_console':is not a class memeber of 'rba::RubyInterpreter' "

What I'm doing wrong in here?

Thanks!
  • edited September 2012

Hi