QInputDialog Example

edited February 2013 in Ruby Scripting
Hello. I am very new to both Ruby and KLayout. With that said, this is a very simple question. I would like to see a script example of a numeric value being input into a "QInputDialog" box and then have that entered numeric value saved as a variable.

Thank you,

Jared

Comments

• edited February 2013

Hi Jared,

As a basis for this discussion, I am referring to the samples found here:

http://www.developer.nokia.com/Community/Wiki/How_to_take_input_from_user_using_QInputDialog_in_Qt

For the first example this is the C++ code:

bool ok = true;
    QString text = QInputDialog::getText(this, tr("Enter Name"),tr("User name:"), QLineEdit::Normal,"", &ok);

This is how it translates to Ruby:

# use the main window as the parent
    mw = RBA::Application::instance.main_window
    text = RBA::QInputDialog::getText(mw, "Enter Name", "User name:", RBA::QLineEdit_EchoMode::Normal, "")

Here we use the main window object as the parent for the input dialog, because that's the only Qt window object that we have. Using it as the parent means the input dialog is a sub-window of the main window and does not become an own icon in the window list for example. We could use "nil" for the parent as well, but then the input dialog would become an independent main window and appear in the window list for example.

The "Normal" enum constant must be taken from the enum declaration instead of the QLineEdit name space (RBA::QLineEdit_EchoMode::Normal). This is because Ruby treats the enum types as individual classes and the enum constants are defined inside that class.

You could employ QObject's "tr" method to emulate the "tr" macro (use "RBA::QObject::tr(your_string)"), but that would be tedious and there is not much use since the dictionaries will be missing.