Ruby Gems?

edited February 2014 in Ruby Scripting
Hi,

I was wondering if it is possible to add Ruby Gems to Klayout? I'm particularly interested in the Axlsx gem so I can pull information from an excel file. I'm fairly new to Ruby. I've found I can add it to a stand-alone version of Ruby, but I have no idea if/how it can be added to Klayout. I'm running windows.

Thanks.

Comments

• edited November -1

Hi,

I did not want to create dependencies on Ruby installations, so KLayout comes with a built-in Ruby interpreter. It is capable of loading gems, but installing them is not going to happen the usual way.

On Linux, KLayout grabs the system-installed Ruby library and gems which are installed on the system are available to KLayout as well.

On Windows, you may be able to redirect KLayout to another Ruby installation using the RUBYLIB environment variable, but I have not tried myself.

For this to be successful, you'll have to install Ruby of the same version that KLayout uses (see Help/About) and preferably binary compatible with Visual C++ 2010 (which KLayout is built on). If you have that in place, you should be able to install gems and have KLayout participate by setting RUBYLIB to point to the native Ruby's gem folder.

As I mentioned, I have not tried myself yet.

Matthias

• edited November -1
    Thanks for the suggestions Matthias. I might give it a try at some point. I'll let you know how I make out.
  • edited February 2014

Hi Bob,

Sounds like Axlsx is not included in the Ruby version.

However if all you want to do is read values from an excel file, here is an example script I wrote that uses win32ole. Note that this works on my installation (KLayout 0.22.9) without installing or copying any extra files. To use it, make a file that might look like this where the "|" character marks the division between spreadsheet cells:

val1 | val2 | ...
    0    | 0    | ...
    1    | 0    | ...
    1.43 | 3    | ...
    ...  | ...  | ...