PCell manipulation !(python scripting)

edited November 2014 in General
Hello,
I'm quite new to Klayout and I'm fascinated already! Adding to my interest is the python integration. That's great! And so, I'd like to ask about possibilities in manipulating a Pcell with python macros. Regardless of using instance is it possible to script a macros that enables PCells manipulation. Any general advise is appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• edited November 2014

Hi beginner :-)

Thanks for the feedback.

Let me warn you about PCell's and scripting: right now, the PCell API is not quite simple and I recognized that as a weakness of the design. I will update that in the next major release and provide a simplified API.

Also, Python support is in a pretty early stage. So there is no separate Python documentation - you'll have to take the Ruby documentation and translate it into Python following the rules mentioned in http://www.klayout.de/resources.html.

The main target of script support for PCell's was to code them in Ruby (or Python now). See http://www.klayout.de/doc/programming/ruby_pcells.html. A Python sample can be found when creating a new Python script - when asked for a template, choose "Python PCell Sample".

Instantiating PCell's through scripts was not the main target, but it appears to be of major interest. So I'll try to explain that little here.

For understanding how PCell's are instantiated in KLayout, please have a look at the little documentation inside the description of the Cell class (http://www.klayout.de/doc/programming/database_api.html#h2-481].

The basic problem if the current implementation is that PCell instantiation is pretty formal. There are three basic steps:

• Locate the PCell and get the PCell declaration object. This object provides information about the PCell, specifically the parameters it expects.