Circle example

Hi,

Thank you very much for your efforts in developing a great layout editor. I am an electrical engineer with little bit of programming experience. I need to generate a 2D array of circles for my research work. I can draw simple arrays from the interface but would like to use Ruby scripting to draw a complex array of circles. A major hurdle I am facing is the lack of simple examples. I am able to create TEXT and BOX easily following the examples. I am trying to find documentation which help me create a CIRCLE using the Basic library. I can't seem to figure out which datatypes and number of arguments to pass to the function. Hope someone can help!!

Thanks,
Naresh

Comments

• edited January 2015
    You may want to look at the source code, there is a .cc file for this library, it is hardcoded I think.

Best regards,
    Max
  • edited January 2015

Hi Naresh,

For generating circles I think that it's less effort to code a circular polygon generator than to instantiate a PCell by script.

Here is some sample:

n = 200    # number of points
    r = 10000  # radius
    da = 2 * Math::PI / n
    pts = n.times.collect { |i| RBA::Point.new(r * Math::cos(i * da), r * Math::sin(i * da)) }
    poly = RBA::Polygon::new(pts)

Matthias

• edited November -1
    Hi Matthias,

Thank you very much for the quick response. I have tried it and your approach is much easier. Just a minor change - I had to prefix cos and sin functions with 'Math::'.

Btw, is there a page where users can share their scripts so that it becomes easier for others in future?

Naresh
  • edited November -1

Of course you are right ... I have added to code above already. Thanks for the hint.

And you're right about the exchange place too, but I don't have the resources to create an infrastructure for that right now. A lightweight solution would be to start a public kind of "KLayout script library" project on GitHub or SourceForge, but I'd be running out of resources if I'd try to manage that.