Drawing an array of rectangles in separate layers

edited May 2015 in Ruby Scripting
Hello,

I'm very new to Ruby language and KLayout. For a project, I need to generate a series of rectangles (each in a different layer) in KLayout using Macro development. This way, depending on an input/variable assignment from the user, say N, the program can generate N Rectangles in N different layers. Something like this figure:

http://i60.tinypic.com/xayw6.jpg

Comments

• edited November -1

Hi,

you'll find a lot of details in the documentation about Ruby script programming: http://klayout.de/doc/programming/index.html.

Here is a simple script that creates a layout with one layer and produces a rectangle on this layer. You can extend that script using a loop to create the layers and formulas to compute the rectangle positions and dimensions:

# save this script to "generate.rb" and run it with "klayout -r generate.rb -b"
    layout = RBA::Layout::new

# database unit 1nm:
    layout.dbu = 0.001

# create a top cell
    top = layout.cell(layout.add_cell("TOP"))

# create a layer: layer number 1, datatype 0
    layer = layout.insert_layer(RBA::LayerInfo::new(1, 0))

# create one rectangle with lower-left coordinates at 0,0
    # and width of 1um and heigth of 2um (coordinates are in
    # database units)
    top.shapes(layer).insert(RBA::Box::new(0, 0, 1000, 2000))

# write to x.gds
    layout.write("x.gds")

Matthias

• edited November -1
    Hello Matthias,

Thank you so much for your help!

I managed to generate the following array of rectangles:
    http://tinypic.com/r/z0fop/8

This was the code I used:

layout = RBA::Layout::new

# database unit 1nm:
    layout.dbu = 0.001

layer = []

x=1
    32.times {
    layer_id= layout.insert_layer( RBA::LayerInfo.new(x,0) )
    ln = RBA::LayerPropertiesNode::new
    ln.width = 1
    ln.source_layer_index = layer_id

layer.push( layer_id )
    x+=1
    }

layer.push(layer[31])

top_id = layout.add_cell("TOP")