Duplicate PCell with changing parameters (for Guard Rings)

edited March 2016 in Ruby Scripting
Hello all,

I have some minor experience in KLayout, but sadly none in Ruby. I want to create a macro (Ruby or Python, there are just many more examples for Ruby in KLayout) that takes a selected PCell STROKED_POLYGON (a BOX that I convert to PCell and then adjust width and radius for rounded corners), duplicates it, changes the parameters from some list (ideally reading from a simple csv-file). The way to get there isn't important for me. I just want to draw a first "template" structure and then automate the replication.

So far I haven't been able to produce a PCell copy of a STROKED_POLYGON that actually show up in the layout.
It seems to be not that complicated, but I'd be very happy about some pointers or examples for duplication / STROKED_POLYGON creation. Especially since there are two selectable entities (the original BOX and the STROKED_POLYGON PCell with the parameters) and I have no idea how to copy both.

Thanks a lot for any help :)
Johannes

Comments

• edited March 2016

The easiest way I think is to use "PCell array generator.lym", which is part of TRT. Once you've installed TRT per the instructions at that link, reopen KLayout. Open a new layout. Click the menu at the top and then Cells > PCell array.*

There is an example spreadsheet file in the same "Cells" subfolder, that prints "KLAYOUT RULES" three times, three different magnifications. Direct the dialog to point to that file and choose your other parameters then click OK to see the result.