Polygon Tiling

edited January 2017 in Ruby Scripting

Hi all,

I'm new to drawing tools like KLayout as well as the scripting language Ruby. So far I've managed to figure out enough from the forums and online documentation (along with some Ruby tutorials) to produce the tiling of hexagons I want, but I would like to figure out a few more things. The first is if I can save a floating point height associated with each layer such that when I save a tiling as a dxf file, I can see it as a 3D drawing in a program like Solidworks. Is this doable?

The second is treating each mask (hexagonal tiling) as a single entity (cell?) so that I can load multiple masks into the same layout and move them around with respect to one another. Is this as simple as creating a different cell for each mask? Here's the script I've cobbled together to make the initial hexagonal tilings:

module MyMacro

include RBA

# Change to working directory
Dir.chdir("My working directory")

# Layout for hexagonal tiling
layout = RBA::Layout::new

# create a new view (mode 1) with an empty layout
main_window = RBA::Application::instance.main_window
layout = main_window.create_layout(1).layout
layout_view = main_window.current_view

# database unit 1nm:
layout.dbu = 0.001

# Create sixteen levels (layers) to etch to
layer = []
x = 1

16.times {
layer_index = layout.insert_layer( RBA::LayerInfo.new(x,0) )
layer.push(layer_index)
x += 1
}

# add a cell (in this case "TOP")
top_id = layout.add_cell("TOP")
top = layout.cell(top_id)

pt = []
# filename = "test_poly.txt"
filename = "hexagonaltiling.txt"

f = File.foreach(filename) do |line|
# puts line
pt = line.split(" ").map(&:to_i)
if pt[0] != 0
hex = [RBA::Point::new(pt[1], pt[2]), RBA::Point::new(pt[3], pt[4]), RBA::Point::new(pt[5], pt[6]),RBA::Point::new(pt[7], pt[8]), RBA::Point::new(pt[9], pt[10]), RBA::Point::new(pt[11],        pt[12])]
top.shapes(layer[pt[0]]).insert(RBA::SimplePolygon::new(hex))
end
end