Defining ID field an automatic numbering

edited September 2015 in KLayout Support
Hi guys,
I'm pretty new with layout design but I found klayout great and at the same time really intuitive.
I'm working on a lithography mask design and I was wondering if there is a way to assign automatically an ID to every structure on the mask(for example an incremental number).

Comments

• edited September 2015

Sure there is, via Ruby/Python script and possibly via the 'rename cells' function, depending on what you are trying to do.

Can you give some more details about how you want to assign the number, or what you want to assign the number to. For example I could interpret your question in multiple ways, each of which has a different script associated. E.g.

• During layout you want to place cell CELL1 1000 times; append a unique 4-digit (or whatever) number to each instance cell name (effectively creating N unique cells) or add a property with this number (effectively keeping only 1 cell that is instanced N times, each instance having different property assigned)
    • Same as above but do this every time you create a cell, no matter what the cell is, incrementally, starting at 0000
    • After layout, rename all cells to post-pend them with a unique 4-digit (or whatever) number
    • Or maybe you want to actually print the numbers on the mask itself, inside each instance

Reframing your question like one of the above allows us to help you with a script

Thanks,

David

• edited November -1
    Hi David,
    Thanls a lot for your reply. You are right. The ID has to be printed on the mask itself: I'm doing some semiconductor chip design and, once the wafer processing is performed the ID would be used to retrieve the position of the chip on the semiconductor wafer.

Nino
  • edited September 2015