Problem with Ruby scrip to generate GDS file

edited April 2011 in KLayout Support
Hi,

First, thanks for this program : I can *at last* work with GDS under my favorite OS. ;-)

I may have a beginner question, but I'm trying to generate a GDS file of donuts (for lithographic dose test purpose) using a ruby script. I'm new to ruby, but here is my script :
http://darckense.online.fr/data/create_donnuts_v1.rb

I launch it using : klayout -r create_donnuts_v1.rb

and when I want to save the file, I have this error message in the console :

[darckense@rose ruby]$ klayout -r create_donnuts_v1.rb
(12042) KSycocaPrivate::openDatabase: Trying to open ksycoca from "/var/tmp/kdecache-darckense/ksycoca4"
kfilemodule(12042)/kdecore (services) KMimeTypeFactory::parseMagic: Now parsing "/usr/local/share/mime/magic"
kfilemodule(12042)/kdecore (services) KMimeTypeFactory::parseMagic: Now parsing "/usr/share/mime/magic"
kfilemodule(12042)/kdecore (services) KMimeTypeFactory::parseMagic: Now parsing "/home/darckense/.local/share/mime/magic"

The saved GDS file is empty. It could be downloaded here :
http://darckense.online.fr/data/donnuts.gds

I'm certainly doing something wrong in the way I generate GDS file, but I cannot figure it out.

Does anyone have an idea ?

Thanks.

Edit: Sorry, I uploaed the wrong script... now, there is the good one. Thanks again. :)

Comments

• edited April 2011

Hi izard,

Thanks for providing the script - debugging is much easier with a real example :-)

What is basically missing in your script is the assignment of the layer and datatype when the layer is created. Without that information, KLayout doesn't know where to save the layer and simply omits it. I admit that is a somewhat disrespectful, but the idea behind that is to allow temporary layers which are not saved.