The results are different for "Adjust Origin" between GUI and pymacro

edited January 2022 in General

Hi all,

I'm a new beginner in Klayout pymacro.
I'd like to transform the gds to center(0,0). I used to execute this function in GUI, and recently I try to execute by pymacro, but I have no idea why the results are different between these 2 approaches.

1. execute in GUI: "edit" >> "cell" >> "Adjust Origin" >> "chose center"

And the result by GUI is as my expected, that the gds is completed shifted to the center (0,0).

1. execute in pymacro: I refer to andyL's code in the discussion "Adjust Cell Origin using the Python API". (Many thanks for andyL)
    Please check the following code:

import pya    
      layout_file = "/.../layout_path/input.gds"
      output_file = "/.../layout_path/input_shift.gds"

layout = pya.Layout.new()
      layout.read(layout_file)

def adjustOrigin(layoutB,topcell):
                bbox= topcell.bbox()
                trans = pya.Trans.new(-bbox.center())  # center point

for inst in layoutB.top_cell().each_inst():
                          layoutB.top_cell().transform(inst,trans)
                for li in layoutB.layer_indices():
                          for shape in layoutB.top_cell().each_shape(li):
                                    layoutB.top_cell().shapes(li).transform(shape,trans)

layoutB.update()
                return(layoutB)

layout = adjustOrigin(layout,layout.top_cell())
      layout.write(output_file)

I checked the new output_file from pymacro, and it did transform but the final bbox/layout placements are not as same as the result by GUI.
It's just my guess that the code would shift the layout in sub-cell coordinate due to the instance for loop.

I'd like to ask which part should I modify this code to get the same result as GUI...
(The Klayout version is 0.25)

Thank you so much!
ming

Comments

• edited January 2022

Just update some information.