Shapes with Holes

Hi Matthias

I'm a beginner with Klayout and currently im trying to figure out how to get rid of the extra edge whenever you load in a GDS files with holes, like this.

I am aware that you can somewhat achieve this objective with DRC such as layer.holes and layer.hulls, however when it comes to overlapped shape, these method would merge the two shape into one, and that's not something I want to do.

The goal is to get holes and hull from everysingle shape without merging when they are overlapped.

My current approach is to use python script and iterate through the shape in the layer, and uses polygon.resolve_holes to get the hulls of the polygon. However it seems that the extra edge that it adds to everytime I open the file would make the program think the polygon is a simple polygon even though its not, therefore polygon.resolve_holes is not working, and that's why I wonder if there is a way to get rid of the extra edge that connect holes and the hulls.

Sorry for the rumbling, hopefully im making sense.

Thanks!
Andy

Comments

• edited February 2022

With some help from a friend this is the solution that I wrote

import pya
    import time

startTime = time.time()

view = pya.LayoutView.current()
    cellview = pya.CellView.active()

layout = cellview.layout()

#obatin target layer and the source layer
    target_layer = layout.layer(10, 0)
    source_layer = layout.layer(3, 0)

#get the top cell
    cell_to_add = layout.cell("TOP")

shapeList = cell_to_add.shapes(source_layer)

shapeArray = []

for someShape in shapeList.each():
      #Do some operation for each shape in layer

#cell_to_add.shapes(target_layer).insert(someShape)
      #noHoleZone = someShape.polygon.resolve_holes()
      #cell_to_add.shapes(target_layer).insert(noHoleZone)

shapeArray.append(someShape)

#Uses Overlap to get rid of the line
    for anyShape in shapeArray:

r1 = pya.Region()
      r1.insert(anyShape.polygon)

r2 = pya.Region()
      r2.insert(anyShape.polygon)