Boolean in DRC without deleting all other layers

Hi,
I'm new to DRC scripting, so this may be a simple issue. I can't find anything on the discussion board.

I would like to write a short script (to be run at the command window) that does the following:

• input a GDS that contains a large and variable number of layers/datatypes
  • perform a Boolean, replacing one of the layers with the results of the Boolean. Let's say for now that I want Layer 1, Datatype 0 to be replaced by (Layer 1, Datatype 0) NOT (Layer 2, Datatype 0).
  • save to the same GDS filename as the original

The best I can figure out is:

source($input)
target($output)
input(1, 0).not(input(2, 0)).output(1, 0)

This properly performs the Boolean and places it in Layer (1, 0) of the output file...but the output file only contains the Boolean results; all other layers are missing.
It seems as if the problem is that the "output" layout doesn't exist other than the results of the Boolean. But when I try something like

output = input

before the Boolean, I get a massive amount of errors.
What's the correct method here? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• What if you extended your script to add (bearing in mind that
    my advice on scripting is not knowledge based) a 'foreach' that
    runs through all the "not_the_target" layers and outputs them all
    as-was? Maybe it needs a "null operation" to make a layer
    "active" for output? A GDS-II hierarchical DB won't know what
    all is on a layer, until you make it look all the way to the bottom?
    Loading, is not that. Only establishes the hierarchy, upon which
    other operations (display, menus, script logic) can now act.

I would not recommend overwriting the input file. I'd use a
    datestamped suffix or something and let the user decide
    whether to 'mv' or 'cp' the product file back onto the original
    name. Particularly during debug you might like the opportunity
    to check outcomes before you blow away the source DB. Of