Inter-Process Communication using QSocketNotifier

edited October 2014 in Ruby Scripting
This may relate to
"External control of the view position and magnification" recently posted by Ken.
Please refer to >> http://klayout.de/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=521&page=1

I'm also studying some different scenarios where KLayout is externally controlled.
Incidentally, binding KLayout with a microscope is one of those scenarios ;-).
Thank Ken for sharing idea.

I believe those tasks can be generally categorized as "Inter-Process Communication with KLayout."
So I'm studying how to use Qt-binding mechanism provided by KLayout.
"Using the Qt binding: transforming KLayout into a HTTP server"
(Refer to >> http://www.klayout.de/rba_examples.html#example9)
is a good example to have KLayout work as a server.
Obviously the client is a web browser in this example.

My attempt is just opposite; to have KLayout work as a "client."
That is, a server is already running and KLayout with RBA attempts to connect
to the server with an extended menu selection.
Once the connection is established between the two, further communication starts.
In my first study, the server sends a message string to the client (KLayout /w RBA) and
the client attempts to echo-back the received message as it is.
As of now, 3 different in-coming channels are tested including
1) Tcp socket
2) Local socket
3) STDIN (KLayout is spawned by the server using QProcess)

To detect arrival of a message, a QSocketNotifier bundled with a proper descriptor
is to be used (as far as I understood) on the client side.
The table below shows the current status of my study.
On Linux, everything is fine. However, the socket notifier does not respond at all
on Windows. The behavior on Mac is more mysterious: I'm novice at OSX programming ;-(.

I'll appreciate useful comments and suggestions on this.

Kazzz

<<< Client Side :: KLayout /w RBA >>>