PCell development introduction - Questions for KLayout

Hi all,

I’m new to KLayout, so a lot of things may be uneasy to understand with a first glance.

In general, I am interested for the PCell development and I am trying to use the idea of this example as a base: https://www.klayout.de/forum/discussion/comment/4444#Comment_4444. I am trying to build a dummy GSG, with some extra features that I want to add, mainly into the PCell Parameters UI.

1) Firstly I wanted to ask if there is any progress with the callbacks invoking via parameters change. I found the following thread where a similar problem is being discussed, where Matthias said back in 2015 that “only Apply will set the parameters”.
https://www.klayout.de/forum/discussion/630/parameter-changes-in-pcells-not-always-working-correctly

I noticed that changes into drop-down lists invoke the callbacks, so I feel that I do something wrong instead.

2) Maybe I misunderstood the usage and the actual meaning of the ‘hidden’ keyword of the parameters declaration, but I am trying to build an interactive Parameters UI where by setting either ‘On/Off‘, different parameters will be displayed into the form (e.g. If the user wants only the signal line of the GSG, he could close the ground signals by an ‘On/Off’ option, and the parameters that refer to the ground lines should be hide from the form and be set into their default values via callback).

Changing the ‘myParam.hidden’ value doesn’t seem to have any effect into the form, although the parameter itself seems to keep the correct information. I do the checking and the parameters correction into the ‘coerce_parameters_impl’ procedure of the PCellDeclarationHelper. Is there any way I could do the form interactive using the ‘hidden’ keyword, or with some other methodology? I also tried the ‘myParam.readonly’ option but it didn't help either.