Step by Step Xsection

edited May 2018 in KLayout Support
Hey team,

Just to set the expectations, I'm new to KLayout as well as Ruby scripting. In my job role I have been tasked to see if there is a possibility to run the Xsection add-on available within KLayout to achieve a step by step processing of the layout. In other words stopping the "cmos.xs" (https://github.com/klayoutmatthias/xsection/blob/master/docs/cmos.xs) after every step like deposition or etch or Litho to look at the process flow step by step.

In the language of code:
Is there a way to execute the "output" command one by one, controlled by a user input? The user input is expected to click a button, where the button(I'm envisioning) could be a QtDialog box awaiting the user to click "Next". From my self guided learning on Ruby and the code it seems difficult because the whole Xsection is an event and cannot have "pause and play" kind functions.

Please excuse, if my question is unclear or if it is a repeat question. I did try to search the forums but couldn't find any thing similar.

Comments

• edited November -1
    Hi Asharma:

If you want to look at the mask output you first would have to execute the fab boolean operations on the layout. For this you would have to parse the boolean, and then combine layers into mask data. I think the functionality of stepping through the flow can be done after reading the use interface part of the KLayout reference.
    I used Python instead of Ruby because there is a free very high quality parser generator available (written by David Beazley).

Also I used PyCharm as the IDE and drive KLayout with it. This is by far the fastest development environment for layout in the industry, since PyCharm is the by far best IDE (= Android Studio etc.). I think there may also be a Ruby plugin ...

Cheers, Erwin
  • edited November -1

Hi Asharma,