LVS with empty cells

acsacs
edited January 2021 in KLayout Support

Hi everybody,
I'm new to this forum and I've, lets say, some experience with EDA tools
but not with klayout, which turns me again into a complete novice. Hope you've still some patience left ..

I tried for a while now, but attached LVS still makes problems.
Both of Klayout 0.26.9 (compiled form source) and Klayout 0.26.2 (from the Debian repos) are showing the same
behavior -- they are running forever when it comes to the "compare" line.

A.) It would be nice, if someone with a deeper insight could have a closer look. Thanks ..

3 additional short questions
B.) I wonder if the LVS-script could also be done in python?
C.) is it possible to stop a long (or forever) running script in klayout without killing the main process?
D.) Is there a feature in klayout (or maybe it is already planned), which could adapt the extracted netlist in a way, so that "netgen" can be used as an second check (2 pair of eyes ..)

thanks in advance

Comments

• Hi,

thanks for the test case. I'll take a look.

Regarding your questions:

B. I don't want to maintain two ecosystems. One is already enough effort. And Ruby is better suited for a DSL, so no Python from my side. But the core API is available in Python too.
    C. Not currently. That would be a separate process. But you can run KLayout in batch mode and send it into some batch queue, like you do with any other EDA tool.
    D. You can export SPICE, but I have no experience with netgen, so I can't say what the requirements are.

In general, there is some advance on the LVS code. You might want to compile the master from GitHub to try the recent code. Reports are better and some bugs are fixed. I hope I can release that version soon.

Kind regards,

Matthias

• edited January 2021

@acs Thanks for your nice testcase ... it was pretty simple to debug the issue.